India signs space related MOUs with 27 nations

The Indian government on Thursday told the Rajya Sabha (Upper House of Parliament) that India has signed MOUs/Agreements for cooperation in the area of space with 27 countries and space agencies so far.

The countries are Australia, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, China, EUMETSAT, European Space Agency, France, Germany, Hungary, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Japan, Mauritius, Mongolia, Myanmar, Norway, Peru, The Russian Federation, Sweden, Thailand, The Netherlands, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America and Venezuela.

In a written reply in the Upper House, Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office Prithviraj Chavan informed that the major achievement of India in the field of space is the self-reliant development of world-class satellites and launch vehicles and utilizing the space systems in several areas relevant to national development.

India has established two operational space systems viz., INSAT system for satellite communication, broadcasting and meteorology and the Indian Remote Sensing satellite (IRS) system for natural resources management.

Click for complete article


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: